Residents celebrated at South Bucks Chairman's Awards

Residents were celebrated at the South Bucks Chairman's Awards ceremony on Thursday 11 April.

The annual event, which took place at the Council offices in Denham, was hosted by South Bucks Chairman, Cllr Dr Wendy Matthews.

Earlier in the year, residents were asked to nominate people from their local communities who they felt were worthy of being recognised for their contribution to South Bucks.

Winners and runners up were invited to the ceremony on Thursday (11 April) where they enjoyed a performance by the choir Sing Out Loud Together and a buffet.

Awards were presented by Cllr Dr Matthews, Cllr Nick Naylor Leader of South Bucks District Council, Insp Brendan Murray from Thames Valley Police, Cllr Patrick Hogan, John Amatt from GLL and South Bucks Chief Executive Bob Smith.

Winners included volunteers who help at the Stoke Poges Memorial Gardens, a man who litter picks every day in Burnham and a student who volunteers with young people at a local school and Brownies Group.

The Chairman's Special Award was presented to Mary Lane, from Hedgerley.

Mary has lived in Hedgerley for more than 60 years and does everything from running social clubs and playgroups to driving residents to hospital appointments and church.

A posthumous award was given in honour of Dr Rosemary Jane Chambers, who tragically lost her life in a road traffic collision earlier this year. Dr Chambers used to keep Gerrards Cross clean and tidy, picking up litter every day.

The winners of the Long Service Award were Bill and Pat Collins, a couple from Gerrards Cross who have been volunteering in the town for more than 55 years. Their work has included transforming and maintaining Gerrards Cross Common, volunteering with the Girl Guides and being members of practically every community group in the town.

Cllr Dr Wendy Matthews said: "I was so pleased to be able to present the residents of South Bucks with awards to recognise all they have done for the community. What really shone through during the ceremony was the long term commitment from the volunteers; in every category we were celebrating people who had been volunteering for their community for decades. The impact they have had on South Bucks is immeasurable and I can't thank them enough, so the ceremony is one way we can show our appreciation and celebrate their achievements."

Full list of winners and runners up:

Green Award

Winner - Nick Hewitt-Teale

Long Service Award

Winners -  Pat and Bill Collins

Runner-up - Mary Clarke

Runner-up - Marilyn Rolfe

Group Award

Winner - Karl Morley and the Stoke Poges Memorial Gardens Volunteers

Runners-up: Iver Heath Drama Club

Runners-up: South Bucks Riding for the Disabled Group

Volunteer of the Year

Winner - Marcelle Maloney

Runner-up-  Caron Beary

Community Champion Award

Winner - Navjoat Kaur Bassi

Runner-up - Jane Brown

Young Volunteer

Winner - Emily Kent

Special Recognition

Dr Rosemary Jane Chambers

Chairman's Award

Mary Lane

Video South Bucks Chairman’s Awards 2019